Celebrating Raksha Bandhan on a German street!

Hey guys, you won’t believe what happened just when I was feeling bad that I couldn’t send Rakhi to my brother who lives in India, for this Raksha Bandhan! I was heading University today morning and a stranger showed up at bus stop,
He: Hi, are you an Indian?
Me: Yes
He: Can I ask you for a help?
Me: Of course!
He: (Takes out Rahki) Can you please tie this?
Me: Haha sure, I was actually feeling bad that I couldn’t tie rakhi to my brother today! But I finally tied to someone 😀
He: Oh do you also celebrate Raksha Bandhan? Which part of India are you from?
Me: I’m from Karnataka, yes we do.
Conversation continues….
Yes, this was really amazing, who would expect this in Germany? I finally got to celebrate Raksha Bandhan this way! I was really happy 🙂 oh, btw he is from Bihar, working here at Ericsson in Aachen. I guess his sister had sent this rakhi to him from India. I even forgot to take a picture for the memory. But I must say, it made my day 🙂
Raksha Bandhan, or simply Rakhi is a Hindu festival, celebrated in many parts of India. Raksha Bandhan means “Bond of protection”. The festival celebrates the love and duty between brothers and sisters. On Raksha Bandhan, a sister ties a rakhi (sacred thread) on her brother’s wrist with a prayer for his prosperity and happiness. This symbolizes sister’s love. The brother gives her a token gift and a promise to protect her.
IndiaTvd0dc9c_raksha-bandhan-festival-201
Happy Rakshabandhan to all brothers out there 🙂
Until next time…… ❤
Leave a Reply

